EU Whistleblowing Monitor – August 2021 Roundup

September 10, 2021
Back to All News

This is the monthly roundup of updates provided by the EU Whistleblowing Monitor team of country editors detailing national developments in the transposition of the EU Directive on Whistleblowing during August 2021.

As of today, there are just 98 days until the deadline for transposition of the EU Directive on Whistleblowing.

Denmark is currently the only country listed as having a transposition law adopted.

Transposition remains ‘in progress’ in at least 22 countries with 5 Member States still listed as ‘not started’ - Austria, Cyprus, Hungary, Luxembourg, and Malta.

Country Updates: 

In Czechia the whistleblowing transposition law has failed at the final hurdle.

In Estonia, public consultation on a draft transposition Bill has been launched.

Media reports transposition progress in Italy but no draft proposal yet published.

A draft law on whistleblowing expected soon in Finland.